Wobbling on the rope, but still on!

Wow.  What a difference a couple of days makes!  And I say that in a “gee-I-had-a-minor-set-back” kind of way, not a “wow-I just-fell-off-the-tightrope-of-life” type thing.  Although the week, month, and holiday season began in a way that I knew it COULD get the best of me, I felt great with my mood and preparations for keeping on top of a good thing, that it good things WOULD manifest.

Feet on a scaleSo the last time I wrote was Tuesday, and I was 163.5 pounds.  Since then I’ve been W/164, Th/165, F/165 and today/166.  Right.  So the running tally for the week is that I’ve lost a pound.  Wonderful in the healthy balanced living realm; not so wonderful in my frantic Type-A world.  Healthy balance wins here.

TimeoutAs for my running streak…I’m still on it, I just had to sit on the bench and watch for a bit.  On Wednesday I did yoga with Ninja and then covered a little pavement.  My pinchy hip was still getting the better of me, so I walked.  (Statement of decreased fitness level: my shoulders and triceps got a little sore, and my half marathon done at a walking 12:05 pace is NOT where I currently reside).  Measured 1 @13:02, Measured 2 @12:45, Measured 3 @ 12:23.  It’ll come back.  Then I taught yoga.  I actually ended up DOING the 2-hour Yin class with the athletes.  Mistake on my part, as my hyper-mobile segments got a little more mobile.

And Thursday morning I couldn’t walk.  By 10:00 I had myself standing upright; thanks be to the kitchen countertop.  By 1:00 I could sit.  And nap in the chair.  And watch TV.  Not an active day.

Friday morning I went back to work.  But I did not run.  I did not walk.  I did not do yoga.  I did not eat green eggs and ham.  I worked, baked two apple pies (which I did not eat), and went to an evening function.  But I did not run.

And now I’m sitting on the couch typing.  OK, I’ll go out and do something when my coffee  cup is dry.

All is not lost.  The week isn’t quite over, the streak will continue, I’ll get moving again, my weight will get back to normal.  And my mood will stay constant.  “I will remain confident in this, I will see the goodness…”  

It’s balanced me before, it will work again.

About Lisa Jamison

I'm a trainer, coach, massage therapist, educator, yogi, and all around great gal, not necessarily in that order. I thrive on watching people move. Professionally I can help you do that with more grace, ease, and efficiency...which translates to "faster" and "without injuries". It's about eliminating the stresses on your body and teaching you a new way. Physically. Cognitively. Emotionally. Body, mind, and spirit.
This entry was posted in The Decemberist and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

